Marion Marlins Masters Swimming Club Inc. 

SA State Masters Open Water Swimming Championships

EVENT SponsorS

This event is supported by the generous sponsorship of a number of businesses, many of whom are listed. We encourage you to support our sponsors, click on the links to find more information. 

Major Sponsors:

Vorgee alt 

Hugh Hamilton Wines alt

The Espy alt


Registration Now Open

Click here to enter in the 2020 SA State Masters Open Water Swim Championships.

Online entries close midnight Friday 10 January 2020

Entry Fees:

Members $35

Non-members $45

Late entries on the day $45 (payable in cash)



The 2019 State Open Water Swim Championships were held today at Brighton under the auspices of both Swimming SA and Masters Swimming SA. This the first time these events have been held concurrently. Conditions were generally favourable although a strong SW breeze made the downward leg more challenging. A new venue and in-water finish with electronic timing added appeal while the combined resources of the two organisations ensured the event ran smoothly.  There were a total of 170 entries (163 who swam) in the jointly sponsored 1.25 and 2.5 km events (146 Masters and 24 Swimming SA members).

The overall Masters Male and Female winners in the 2.5 km event were Mark Preiss (Aquadome Otters) and Steph Palmer White (Adelaide Masters). The 1.25 winners were Ian Young (Marion Marlins) and Jo Sutcliffe (Henley Beach).

Three SA Masters also contested the longer Swimming SA events with Leila Nazimi (Henley Beach) finishing second in the 7.5km event.

Team Trophies were hotly contested with Marion winning the Aggregate Points Trophy  (ahead of Henley Beach and Atlantis) while Aquadome Otters won the  Average Points /Swimmer Trophy (ahead of Marion and Atlantis).

The Marie Dingwall trophy for contribution to open water swimming was awarded to Garth Hayter of Marion Marlins.

The Barb Pearce trophy for oldest Female to complete the 2017-18 Open Water Series was presented to Pauline Smith (Henley Beach). 

Thanks to Garth Hayter and his Marion Team and Leanne Beames, working on behalf of Swimming SA and Masters Swimming SA, for an extremely well organised event. We hope to build on this success!

1.25km  and 2.5Km results.


Historical Results

2012 - 2019 Winners and Placegetters

Swim Compilation 2001 - 2019



A great day at West Beach with a good number of swimmers (145 entries, 132  who swam) competing in the 7th Annual 2018 Channel Nine State Masters Open Water Swim Championships.


Fastest male and female in the 1km Championship event  were Tom Liubinas (Non-member) and Briny Mcarthur (Marion).


The 3km winners were Leila Nazami and Grant Simpson (both from  Henley Beach).


Team Trophies were hotly contested with Marion edging out Henley Beach for the Aggregate Points Trophy while Western Districts won the Average Points /Swimmer Trophy.


The Marie Dingwall trophy was awarded to Pam Gunn of Adelaide Masters.


The Barb Pearce trophy for oldest Female to complete the 2016-17 Open Water Series was presented to Terry Carter (Marion)                                                  


Thanks to  Garth Hayter and his Team for another extremely well organised event. Due to the efforts of Stephen Carthew there were prizes for just about everyone!

2017 1km and 3km

2018 1km Result and 3km Result

Marie Dingwall Memorial Trophy

This annual award was established in memory of Marie Dingwall, a long time and much loved member of our club who passed away suddenly in 2010. It recognises a member of the Masters Swimming South Australia (MSSA) community who has contributed to our swim and the Open Water Swim Series and who embodies the Masters spirit of friendship, fitness and fun. To be eligible a nominee must be a MSSA Member and must be participating in the current OWS Series and the Marion swim as either a competitor or as an organiser. Nominees are invited from MSSA clubs and the award is announced at the Presentation ceremony following the swim.

Past winners:

2011      Catherine Marriot (Noarlunga )

2012      Ruth Henty (Marion)

2013      Sue Graebner (Adelaide)

2014      Rosemary White (Henley Beach)

2015      Kent Nelson (Adelaide)

2016      Maddie Edgley-Smith (Tea Tree Gully)

2017      Ethne Mayton (Tea Tree Gully)

2018      Pamela Gunn (Adelaide Masters)

2019      Garth Hayter (Marion)